A Most Scandalous Proposal by Ashlyn Macnamara

With a smile, he took her hand in his and laid her palm flat against the hard plane of his chest.  “You touch, you kiss, you do whatever your heart wishes.  I doubt very much any of it would displease me.”  Ashlyn MacNamara – A Most Scandalous Proposal

Product Details

Written By: Ashlyn Macnamara
Published By: Ballentine Books
Publication Date: February 26, 2013
How I Got It: Complimentary Advanced Copy from the publisher via NetGalley
Started: 1/30/2013
Finished: 1/30/2013

From Amazon.com

In Ashlyn Macnamara’s stunning romance debut—perfect for fans of Julia Quinn,  Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries—two childhood friends in Regency England  discover love with the most unlikely of partners: each other.

After watching her beloved sister, Sophia, pine over the ton’s golden boy for years, Miss Julia St. Claire has foresworn love and put herself firmly on the shelf.   Unfortunately, her social-climbing mother and debt-ridden father have other ideas, and jump at the chance to marry Julia off to the newly named Earl of  Clivesden . . . the man of Sophia’s dreams.

Since resigning his cavalry commission, Benedict Revelstoke has spent his time in London avoiding the marriage mart. But when he discovers that the Earl of Clivesden has his sights
set on Julia, Benedict tries to protect his childhood best friend from the man’s advances—only to discover that more than friendship is driving his desire to defend her. He surprises them both with the force of his feelings, but when Julia refuses him, and her father announces her betrothal, Benedict fears he’s lost her forever—until Julia approaches him with a shocking scheme that will ruin her for all respectable society and lead them into an exquisite world of forbidden pleasures.


Welcome to the world of matchmaking mamas, rakes, and the ton.  Julia St. Claire and her sister Sophia have the ultimate matchmaking mama – who will not rest until her daughters have suitably moved up in their social ranking.

Ashlyn Macnamara has penned a great cast of characters – excluding the terrible Earl of Clivesden – really no one likes the bad guy.  This was a quick read for me and I thoroughly enjoyed the plot.  There were several laugh-out-loud moments and several swoon worthy quotes.   I’ve always been a fan of the regency period and this book did not disappoint.   It appears that A Most Scandalous Proposal is a debut novel for the author and I definitely give it 4 stars and recommend it to others.

Advertisements

On Dublin Street by Samantha Young

On Dublin Street (On Dublin Street, #1)

Written By: Samantha Young
Published By: Penguin Publishing
Publication Date: October 12, 2012
How I Got It: Purchased from Amazon.com
Started:  1/27/13
Finished: 1/27/13

From Amazon.com

Jocelyn Butler has been hiding from her past for years. But all her secrets are about to be laid bare…
 
Four years ago, Jocelyn left her tragic past behind in the States and started over in Scotland, burying her grief, ignoring her demons, and forging ahead without attachments. Her solitary life is working well—until she moves into a new apartment on Dublin Street where she meets a man who shakes her carefully guarded world to its core.
Braden Carmichael is used to getting what he wants, and he’s determined to get Jocelyn into his bed. Knowing how skittish she is about entering a relationship, Braden proposes an arrangement that will satisfy their intense attraction without any strings attached.
But after an intrigued Jocelyn accepts, she realizes that Braden won’t be satisfied with just mind-blowing passion. The stubborn Scotsman is intent on truly knowing her… down to the very soul.

Meet Joss – she’s had a rough life … several tragic losses leaves her less than thrilled to let people in.  Enter hunky Braden a super-successful Scottish businessman with a slightly dirty mouth.  His persistence and her fight then flight attitude make for a great read.  The side story of Ellie and Adam added some depth to the story without taking too much from the main story.
This was a well-written quick read.  I started reading mid-afternoon and finished before it was time for bed.  Samantha Young provided enough twists and turns to keep me on my toes but not so many that it got weird.  There was several laugh out loud moments that got the husband curious what I was laughing at.

I’m really enjoying finding new authors.  This is the first book by Samantha Young that I’ve read and I really liked it.  I see she has other books published and they look like they tend to be more fantasy – which sadly, I’ve never gained interest in.  Oh well, it does appear that she has written another book to go with On Dublin Street.  It has definitely been added to my “to read” list on Goodreads.com.  I would rate the book 4.5 stars and recommend it for others to read

Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

It’s real, Six.  You can’t get mad at a real ending.  Some of them are ugly.  It’s the fake happily ever afters that should piss you off.  Colleen Hoover, Hopeless

http://colleenhoover.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/hopeless-nyt-amazon.jpg

Written By: Colleen Hoover

Published By: Colleen Hoover
Publication Date: December 17, 2012
How I Got It: Purchased from Amazon.com
Started 1/26/13
Finished 1/26/13
 

From Amazon.com

Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.


Wow!  What do you say to emotions that are this raw?  When I am transported into the story and I can feel the emotions of the characters as if the events are happening directly to me – it’s a great book.  This is what happened with Hopeless for me.  I could feel Sky’s emotions and I fell in love with Holder right along with her.  At one point during the book my hand flew to my mouth and I let out a small sob.  My husband looked over at me, smirked, and shook his head.

I rated this book 5 stars but I was completely pissed that there was just a “The End” instead of some sort of epilogue.  The book wrapped up to quickly for me after the climax of the story and I didn’t get the closure that I felt I deserved after having my heart ripped out.

There are parts to this story that are what I would call dark.  They are especially dark considering the characters in the book are high school age.  But I think Colleen Hoover’s writing style pushes you just enough toward the dark without the story becoming twisted.

Overall, I would highly recommend the book.

I’m an addict

Okay so you know how they say the first step is to admit your problems?  I’m going to say it….deep breath…I’m an addict.  I crave my next book just like a junkie craves their next score.  Fortunately for me my addiction won’t someday cause me permanent brain damage.  At least I don’t think it will.  There is a definite lack of sleep and my bank account takes a hit almost daily.   I can’t quit and quite frankly I don’t want to.

I love to read.  No seriously I LOVE to read.  I read 4 books between last Saturday afternoon and early Sunday morning. I’ve read 17 books since January 1st. I know I’m a bit obsessive. I laugh, I cry, I feel joy and I feel anguish.  I love, I hate, I sigh and I’m transported somewhere else, I forget where I am and just somehow warp into the world the author has created for me.  It’s sometimes a sickness.  I seriously have to blink myself back into reality when it’s over.

I can, have, and will probably read almost anything.  My current addictions lie within the young-adult and contemporary genres.  I’ve also been known to read Amish fiction, a few thrillers, and historical fiction.  Gone With The Wind and Little Women will always be books I return to and I will always be slightly scared of clowns after reading Stephen King’s IT.  I was the most prolific reader in 8th grade and I am known to devour a book in a few hours.  Unless it’s terrible, and even a book lover such as myself has sadly encountered a few really sucky books over time, I usually finish the books I read very quickly.  This is where the addict notion comes from.  I. can’t. put. them. down.  I have to know what’s going to happen.  Is he cheating on her?  Is she attracted to someone else?  Will they break-up will they stay together… is it happily ever after?  Heaven forbid if there is a next book that’s not been released yet.  Book hangover doesn’t even begin to describe it.

I’m Shannon and I’m a addict and I can’t wait to share my habit with you 🙂