Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

It’s real, Six.  You can’t get mad at a real ending.  Some of them are ugly.  It’s the fake happily ever afters that should piss you off.  Colleen Hoover, Hopeless

http://colleenhoover.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/hopeless-nyt-amazon.jpg

Written By: Colleen Hoover

Published By: Colleen Hoover
Publication Date: December 17, 2012
How I Got It: Purchased from Amazon.com
Started 1/26/13
Finished 1/26/13
 

From Amazon.com

Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.


Wow!  What do you say to emotions that are this raw?  When I am transported into the story and I can feel the emotions of the characters as if the events are happening directly to me – it’s a great book.  This is what happened with Hopeless for me.  I could feel Sky’s emotions and I fell in love with Holder right along with her.  At one point during the book my hand flew to my mouth and I let out a small sob.  My husband looked over at me, smirked, and shook his head.

I rated this book 5 stars but I was completely pissed that there was just a “The End” instead of some sort of epilogue.  The book wrapped up to quickly for me after the climax of the story and I didn’t get the closure that I felt I deserved after having my heart ripped out.

There are parts to this story that are what I would call dark.  They are especially dark considering the characters in the book are high school age.  But I think Colleen Hoover’s writing style pushes you just enough toward the dark without the story becoming twisted.

Overall, I would highly recommend the book.

Leave a Reply

