A Most Scandalous Proposal by Ashlyn Macnamara

With a smile, he took her hand in his and laid her palm flat against the hard plane of his chest.  “You touch, you kiss, you do whatever your heart wishes.  I doubt very much any of it would displease me.”  Ashlyn MacNamara – A Most Scandalous Proposal

Product Details

Written By: Ashlyn Macnamara
Published By: Ballentine Books
Publication Date: February 26, 2013
How I Got It: Complimentary Advanced Copy from the publisher via NetGalley
Started: 1/30/2013
Finished: 1/30/2013

From Amazon.com

In Ashlyn Macnamara’s stunning romance debut—perfect for fans of Julia Quinn,  Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries—two childhood friends in Regency England  discover love with the most unlikely of partners: each other.

After watching her beloved sister, Sophia, pine over the ton’s golden boy for years, Miss Julia St. Claire has foresworn love and put herself firmly on the shelf.   Unfortunately, her social-climbing mother and debt-ridden father have other ideas, and jump at the chance to marry Julia off to the newly named Earl of  Clivesden . . . the man of Sophia’s dreams.

Since resigning his cavalry commission, Benedict Revelstoke has spent his time in London avoiding the marriage mart. But when he discovers that the Earl of Clivesden has his sights
set on Julia, Benedict tries to protect his childhood best friend from the man’s advances—only to discover that more than friendship is driving his desire to defend her. He surprises them both with the force of his feelings, but when Julia refuses him, and her father announces her betrothal, Benedict fears he’s lost her forever—until Julia approaches him with a shocking scheme that will ruin her for all respectable society and lead them into an exquisite world of forbidden pleasures.


Welcome to the world of matchmaking mamas, rakes, and the ton.  Julia St. Claire and her sister Sophia have the ultimate matchmaking mama – who will not rest until her daughters have suitably moved up in their social ranking.

Ashlyn Macnamara has penned a great cast of characters – excluding the terrible Earl of Clivesden – really no one likes the bad guy.  This was a quick read for me and I thoroughly enjoyed the plot.  There were several laugh-out-loud moments and several swoon worthy quotes.   I’ve always been a fan of the regency period and this book did not disappoint.   It appears that A Most Scandalous Proposal is a debut novel for the author and I definitely give it 4 stars and recommend it to others.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s