Slammed & Point of Retreat by Colleen Hoover

“Does he treat you with respect at all times? That’s the first question. The second question is, if he is the exact same person twenty years from now that he is today, would you still want to marry him? And finally, does he inspire to be a better person? You find someone you can answer yes to all three, then you’ve found a good man.” – Colleen Hoover, Slammed

Book Photo

Written By: Colleen Hoover
Published By: Atria Books
Publication Date: August 10, 2012
How I Got It: Purchased from Amazon.com
Started:  2/4/13
Finished: 2/4/13
 
 From Amazon.com
 
Falling in love can feel like poetry. Or it can feel like a slam to the heart.

Colleen Hoover’s romantic, emotion-packed debut novel unforgettably captures all the magic and confusion of first love, as two young people forge an unlikely bond before discovering that fate has other plans for them.

Following the unexpected death of her father, eighteen-year-old Layken becomes the rock for both her mother and younger brother. She appears resilient and tenacious, but inside, she’s losing hope. Then she meets her new neighbor Will, a handsome twenty-one-year-old whose mere presence leaves her flustered and whose passion for poetry slams thrills her.

Not long after a heart-stopping first date during which each recognizes something profound and familiar in the other, they are slammed to the core when a shocking discovery brings their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together and the forces that tear them apart. Only through the poetry they share are they able to speak the truth that is in their hearts and imagine a future where love is cause for celebration, not regret.

Another great book from Colleen Hoover.  I think I just might have a bit of a girl crush on her.  Her writing style is so engaging.  You’re reading along really getting into the story and WHAM!!@!! you just feel like you’ve been punched in the face.  Seriously.  So much intensity.

I was honestly hesitant to buy this book even though I read Hopeless not long ago and loved every second of it.  I’m not a fan of poetry and I just couldn’t decide if a book about two people coming together over poetry was going to be my thing.  It ended up being most definitely, my thing, after all.  I’ve never heard of Slam Poetry but it is definitely interesting to read about.  I saw that the movie rights for the book have been obtained so I hope a movie actually comes of it.  Although, as I’ve said before, movies never compare to the written word.  Colleen’s sense of humor mirrors my own and I have no doubt if we ever met we’d definitely get along 🙂 Anyway back to the book… I bought it on my lunch break.  Started reading again after dinner and didn’t stop til it was over.  But wait it wasn’t over because lucky, lucky me….there is a second book that continues the story.  So I bought it, too.


“If I were a carpenter, I would build you a window to my soul. But I would leave that window shut and locked, so that every time you tried to look through it all you would see is your own reflection. You would see that my soul is a reflection of you.”  ― Colleen Hoover, Point of Retreat

 

Book Photo

Written By: Colleen Hoover
Published By: Atria Books
Publication Date: August 10, 2012
How I Got It: Purchased from Amazon.com
Started:  2/4/13
Finished: 2/5/13
 
From Amazon.com
 
Sometimes two people have to fall apart to realize just how much they belong together.Colleen Hoover entranced readers everywhere with her bestselling novel Slammed, the book that introduced Layken and Will, a young couple whose love overcame devastating hardships to emerge stronger and more resilient than before. Now, as Layken and Will’s emotion-packed story continues, a stunning and unforeseen revelation about Will’s past leaves them questioning everything that they thought they knew about each other. With the foundation of their relationship at risk, they must decide whether they are willing to fight for a future together, or to retreat back into solitude and heartache.How far does Will have to go to prove to Layken his love for her will last forever? It will require something truly extraordinary to keep this couple together, and the decisions they make and the answers they find will change not only their lives, but the lives of everyone around them.

Since I couldn’t stop reading Slammed and finished it in one sitting, you’d have thought at 10 pm at night I’d put the Kindle to bed and go to bed like a normal person myself, right?  Well, then you’d be wrong and soon realize I’m most definitely not a normal person because I bought Point of Retreat and finished it around 12:45.  As I said before, Colleen Hoover’s writing style is AWESOME.  I cannot wait to see more books come out with her name on them.

This book, a continuation of Slammed, continues to follow Will and Lake through their ups and downs as a young couple.  There was never a time while reading that I thought to myself, this could never happen.  Because the story line’s are completely realistic.

I am giving these books a very enthusiastic – Go. Freaking. Buy. Them. BOTH. Right. Now.   Seriously, right now.  Go 🙂

Leave a Reply

