Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire

“A Toast! To douche bags! And to girls that break your heart.  And to the absolute fucking horror of losing your best friend because you were stupid enough to fall in love with her.

I was so freaking excited last week when I got the email from Atria Books that I could download and begin reading my ARC of Walking Disaster.  SCORE!!!!!  I did a little dance.  Seriously.  Ask my co-worker from across the hall.  I actually danced to her office then danced back to mine.  Seriously, though I could.not.wait to read this book.  Beautiful Disaster was one of the first books I read this year and one of them that inspired me to start my blog.

When reading Beautiful Disaster, which I absolutely loved by the way, there were times when I would ponder the question, “What in the hell was Travis Maddox thinking?”  This book answers those questions for me.  It’s not new, there’s nothing more to the story, it is what it says it is, the exact same story but it’s from Travis’ point of view.  I loved how he arrived at asking her about the bet, what he was thinking when she showed up at his apartment for the first time looking like she did, and what he was thinking right before their first time.  It really was a chance to see the story from all angles.  Just getting inside his head to see what made Travis – Travis was great.  There were times when I was a bit shocked to know what he was thinking.

I was happy there was an epilogue. Nothing annoys me more than when the story ends and it just ends.  No more story just THE END.  Thank you Jamie McGuire for providing an epilogue and a decent one at that.  Looking forward to other books to come from this author.

“You know why I want you?  I didn’t know I was lost until you found me.  I didn’t know what alone was until the first night I spent without you in my bed.  You’re the one thing I’ve got right.  You’re what I’ve been waiting for, Pigeon.”

From Amazon.com

Finally, the highly anticipated follow-up to the New York Times bestseller Beautiful Disaster.

Can you love someone too much?

Travis Maddox learned two things from his mother before she died: Love hard. Fight harder.

In Walking Disaster, the life of Travis is full of fast women, underground gambling, and violence. But just when he thinks he is invincible, Abby Abernathy brings him to his knees.

Every story has two sides. In Beautiful Disaster, Abby had her say. Now it’s time to see the story through Travis’s eyes.

Leave a Reply

