He Belongs to Me by Theresa Rizzo

Theresa Rizzo

I was given an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

This story was a bit heartbreaking for me.  Catherine shows a lot of determination when she has to fight for her young son. I was really puzzled why anyone would give up their child to go to school so far away.  As a mother of 4 I can’t imagine how someone could move so far away from their child – heartbroken over the loss of his twin or not.  The author does a great job of explaining most of my lingering questions as the book progresses.  We all know how I love twist and turn stories so this was good for me.

A decent book I’d recommend.

From Amazon.com

Catherine Boyd will do anything to regain custody of her young son . . . Even reconcile with the husband accused of killing their son’s twin. Catherine graduates from college, eager to start a new life with her six-year-old son, Drew. But when she tries to bring him home, her parents refuse to relinquish control of the grandson they’d raised. Wrongly accused of a horrible crime, Thomas Boyd has buried himself in his career, determined to forget his painful past and the family he lost. But now, five years later, Catherine is back, requesting his help to regain custody of their son – custody he thought she had. Though older and wiser, when courtroom battles reveal lies and secrets and generations of pain, will Thomas and Catherine find more tragedy and loss, or will old wounds finally heal?

Advertisements

Are You Gonna Kiss Me Or Not?

Written by Thompson Square and Travis Thrasher.  Inspired by the hit song, Are You Gonna Kiss Me Or Not?

I received an ARC copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

When I first saw this title on NetGalley before I saw who wrote it I was thinking, aw someone ripped off the title of Thompson Square’s song, lol.  Then I realized they wrote the book and I had to read it.  I have loved the song since I first heard it.

If you’ve never heard of Thompson Square before – check them out!  I’m a huge fan of music and love books written about singers and songwriters so this book really appealed to me.

The book was about two young people that met in high school and after many missed chances finds the love in each other that had been right in front of the all along.  Sometimes you’ve got to make all the wrong choices before you make the right one and that’s what I think this book was about. The idea behind the book was good but for most of the story the characters both seemed stuck.

This was one of those books that jump from current to high school and back so you have to pay attention.  This isn’t my favorite format but it was clearly marked so you knew what time frame you were in.  There were a few things that stood out in the timelines that didn’t quite add up and it seemed to switch from third person to first person which was rather frustrating.

I liked the book and read it in a few hours.  The cover was really nicely done.  The book is available for pre-order on Amazon and is available June 4, 2013.

From Amazon.com

Daniel and Casey were an unlikely couple back in high school when they came together to write music for a school event. Struggling against their differences, they dated during college, but their relationship never seemed quite right. Yet despite their personal conflict, as songwriters they had undeniable chemistry—and several hit songs. Eventually they went their own ways, both trying to make it in the music world and find true love.

Years later, both Daniel and Casey are at rock bottom, still trying to find success. But when they connect again as old friends, they realize that what they needed was right in front of them all along: each other.

From Thompson Square, a married twosome who knows a little something about what it’s like to overcome years of struggle in the music business and find love, Are You Gonna Kiss Me or Not? is a charming and humorous love story about coming of age, knowing where you belong, and finding the perfect person to share life with.

Ask Me To Stay by Elsie K. Ackers

I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Ethen wonders in and out of town usually showing up for major events.  He’s back this time due to a family tragedy.  His brother Dean isn’t sure he’s up to handling Ethen taking off again.  Ethen and Dean’s childhood best friends Sam and Cal have somethings of their own going on.  Brought together again Sam and Ethen have to decide if they can make a future or step off of memory lane forever.

This was a nice and sweet story.  Really tame, not what I’d call my usual gritty story but very likable.   If you’re looking for a nice love story this one fits the bill.

From Amazon.com

When family tragedy brings bad boy Ethan Foster home, he doesn’t expect a warm welcome. In the small town of Hinterdown reputation is everything – and Ethan’s was ruined long ago. Nobody wants him around, particularly not Sam O’Hara, the girl he left behind. There’s still a powerful spark between them, but Sam is afraid to risk her heart again. And Ethan is hiding a secret that will have repercussions for his whole family. Will the townspeople ever forgive him? More importantly, will those he loves the most find it in their hearts to take him back?

This tender tale of love and redemption is the first in a brilliant new series by Elise K. Ackers, author of Small Town Storm and the bestselling The Man Plan.

Music Monday Blog Hop


Music Mondays @TheBookAsylum

I’m participating in the Book Asylum’s Music Monday Blog Hop for the first time today. What fun. I’m always thinking about what song would go with a scene in a book or the entire book, so this blog hop is right up my alley.

My picks would be (sorry if they’ve been used before)

I can’t hear the song Ho Hey by the Lumineers without thinking about the Thoughtless series. When Kellen starts staying at home and hanging out with Kiara – this is what I picture him saying to her.

Next Contestant by Nickelback

This one is dedicated to a few of my favorite overprotective book boyfriends.

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Collision Course by S.C. Stephens

While I’m on a book hangover from the S.C. Stephens series about Kellen and Kiera I thought I’d see if she had any other books.  I was delighted to see that she did.  I downloaded Collision Course and I was not disappointed.  Ok, I’ll admit this book was heavy and dramatic.  When you’re dealing with death it’s always heavy and dramatic.  When you add the deaths of three high school kids it becomes even more so.

Having a 15 year old that can think of not much more than getting his drivers license – stories like this terrify the hell out of me.  Just as much the thought of early death terrifies me so does the powerful emotions and love that kids at this age have (or think they have).  Stephens puts these thoughts and emotions out there.  In some parts I found myself skipping over a few really wordy spots, but other than that the plot was believable and not at all far fetched.  If teenage death and/or suicide thoughts bother you this might not be your kind of book.  If you’re not horrified at the thought of reading these topics it’s a great book.

Written By: S.C. Stephens

How I Got It: Purchased from Amazon.com

Started:  2/9/13

Finished: 2/10/13

Lucas had it all–popularity, a devoted girlfriend, a brotherly best friend, and a loving mother who would do anything for him. His life was right on course to be successful and fulfilling…until the crash changed everything.

Late at night, during a sudden downpour, three young lives are lost and Lucas, the lone survivor, is left to face the consequences. Surrounded by swirling gossip as to what really happened that fateful evening, Lucas now finds himself an outcast. Shunned by former friends, condemned by the people of his small town, and riddled by his own guilt and self-hatred, he struggles to find hope, find peace, and maybe, even find love.

A Most Scandalous Proposal by Ashlyn Macnamara

With a smile, he took her hand in his and laid her palm flat against the hard plane of his chest.  “You touch, you kiss, you do whatever your heart wishes.  I doubt very much any of it would displease me.”  Ashlyn MacNamara – A Most Scandalous Proposal

Product Details

Written By: Ashlyn Macnamara
Published By: Ballentine Books
Publication Date: February 26, 2013
How I Got It: Complimentary Advanced Copy from the publisher via NetGalley
Started: 1/30/2013
Finished: 1/30/2013

From Amazon.com

In Ashlyn Macnamara’s stunning romance debut—perfect for fans of Julia Quinn,  Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries—two childhood friends in Regency England  discover love with the most unlikely of partners: each other.

After watching her beloved sister, Sophia, pine over the ton’s golden boy for years, Miss Julia St. Claire has foresworn love and put herself firmly on the shelf.   Unfortunately, her social-climbing mother and debt-ridden father have other ideas, and jump at the chance to marry Julia off to the newly named Earl of  Clivesden . . . the man of Sophia’s dreams.

Since resigning his cavalry commission, Benedict Revelstoke has spent his time in London avoiding the marriage mart. But when he discovers that the Earl of Clivesden has his sights
set on Julia, Benedict tries to protect his childhood best friend from the man’s advances—only to discover that more than friendship is driving his desire to defend her. He surprises them both with the force of his feelings, but when Julia refuses him, and her father announces her betrothal, Benedict fears he’s lost her forever—until Julia approaches him with a shocking scheme that will ruin her for all respectable society and lead them into an exquisite world of forbidden pleasures.


Welcome to the world of matchmaking mamas, rakes, and the ton.  Julia St. Claire and her sister Sophia have the ultimate matchmaking mama – who will not rest until her daughters have suitably moved up in their social ranking.

Ashlyn Macnamara has penned a great cast of characters – excluding the terrible Earl of Clivesden – really no one likes the bad guy.  This was a quick read for me and I thoroughly enjoyed the plot.  There were several laugh-out-loud moments and several swoon worthy quotes.   I’ve always been a fan of the regency period and this book did not disappoint.   It appears that A Most Scandalous Proposal is a debut novel for the author and I definitely give it 4 stars and recommend it to others.